24th All Island Netball Championship

The 24th All Island Milo Schools Netball Championship conducted by the Sri Lanka Schools Netball Association and sponsored by Nestle Lanka Ltd was held on July 25, 26 and 27 at the Bernard Aluvihare Stadium in Matale with nearly 4000 players from 400 teams around the island and competed for honours in the four age groups. The Chief guest, Central Province Chief Minister Sarath Ekanayake and Nestle Plc Assistant Vice President Bandula Egoda graced the event.

Visakha Vidyalaya was qualified from Colombo district selections from 3 age groups as follows.

Colombo District Qualifiers:

Under 14A – Musaeus College, Visakha Vidyalaya, St Bridget’s Convent, Gothami BV.

Under 16A – Visakha Vidyalaya, Ananda BV, Gothami BV, Musaeus College.

Under 18A – Visakha Vidyalaya, Lindsay BV, Sirimavo Bandaranayake BV, Ananda BV.

From the all island tournament, Visaka Vidyalaya was able to won the third place in under 14 category.

Apart from that, Visakhian Dilani Perera received the Most Popular Player award from Visakha Vidyalaya Principal Sandamali Aviruppola as she secured 6712 votes as the highest.